460 Squadron – Collection

A collection of stories about 460 Squadron RAAF and my ‘tour of duty’.
The crew and I were only on 460 Squadron for just a few months as we each completed our 30 trip ‘tour of duty’. Still, we were proud to have played our part in a great Command, to have upheld the honour and reputation of a great Squadron and to have been numbered amongst that splendid company of men who willingly went each night in jeopardy of their lives. Here are our stories ….

460 Squadron – The crew, our stories

The crew from left to right – Ian Hall (engineer), Henry Baskerville (pilot), Harry Ellis (wireless operator), Jack Golding (mid upper gunner), Jack McQueen (rear gunner), Jack Trist (bomb aimer) and Fred Smith (navigator).
Also see the comprehensive tribute site to 460 Squadron by Laurie Woods
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 460 Squadron – Collection

  1. Judith Sampson says:

    Hi Laurie, Great to find your webpage. My father, Colin Wood was a navigator in the Bomber Command and flew with an Australian Pilot Andrew Anderson. Love to hear is stories. I will print off your pages and post to I’m (no web for Dad)….he will love to read your comments.

    Kind Regards – Judy
    Judy Sampson – residing in Melbourne since 1982

    • Richard Munro says:

      Hi Judy,
      I am on the committee of the Sydney based 460 Sqn Veterans & Friends Group. I would like to make contact with you, as we are building up a contacts list for all 460 Sqn Vets and their families. Please email me on Richard@munroconsulting.com.au.
      Thanks & regards,
      Richard Munro

  2. Peter Gallimore says:

    Hi.my uncle is also on this photo. Cyril Wood(navigator) of Jarrow, North East England. He’s standing just under the left hand engine, right of the tall chap with the darker uniform on(his pilot f/o Williams).incidently.my uncle’s cousin is the aussie cricketer arthur morris. His crew joked near the time of this photo that they had killed glenn Miller (Dec44)as they lost a cookie over the channel the same night or so ,that the band leader
    went missing (over the channel)……Regards. .Peter Gallimore. Gateshead. England

    • Richard Munro says:

      Hi Peter,
      I am on the committee of the Sydney (Australia) based 460 Sqn Veterans & Friends Group. I would like to make contact with you, as we are building up a contacts list for all 460 Sqn Vets and their families around the world.
      Please email me on Richard@munroconsulting.com.au.
      Thanks & regards,
      Richard Munro

  3. Vivienne Senden says:

    Hi Richard Munro,
    Hi my name is Vivienne Senden my dad is and he is still alive Harry Peter Korsman. he was in 460 Sqn as a pilot. I would love to know more about 460 Sqn thank you Vivienne. I await your replay via my e-mail.

    • alexiskuzmick says:

      Hi Vivienne,

      My great uncle, a Canadian with the RAAF, and his crew (from Squadron 460) were shot down in December 1943, and only three survived – not Uncle Ivan, unfortunately. Maybe because she lost him so early, his mother kept all his letters, photos, flight book, etc.

      When I saw that your dad is still living, I wanted to let you know right away, because the letters I have are pretty interesting, and perhaps he’d be interested in reading them, or they might help prompt his memory for you. Ivan’s anecdote about the day the BBC came to record them is what brought me to this site via a Google search, in fact. It’s too late for me to talk about it all with my grandparents etc, but if I can be any help to you and your dad, let me know and I can email you some scans.

      Alexis Kuzmick

      • Richard Munro says:

        Hi Alexis,
        Vivienne mentioned your enquiry. From our records, I gather your great uncle was Flight Sergeant Ivan Rodin RCAF shot down on his 28th operation, the 2 December 1943’s raid on Berlin – 460 Squadron lost 5 aircraft that night, with two of these having a member of the press on board.
        Please email me on Richard@munroconsulting.com.au and I can provide you with more information.
        Thanks & cheers,
        Richard Munro
        Committee member of 460 Squadron Veterans & Friends Group

Leave a Reply

